What's Happening

Fall Color - Tips for Leaf Season

Tips for planning your scenic drive or vacation to see the fall color along the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Parkway Highlights

Visitors traveling the Blue Ridge Parkway can now make one stop to learn about the entire 469 miles and 73-year history of the Parkway. The Parkway Visitor Center opened in 2008 and unveiled innovative, high-tech interactive exhibits. The LEED-certif
Located near the Virginia state line, Cumberland Knob is the site where construction of the Blue Ridge Parkway began in 1935. It was the first recreation area opened to the public and remains a favorite destination for both locals and visitors. The m
An ideal spot for watching sunrise and sunsets across the rugged mountains, Waterrock Knob Visitor Center sits at almost 6,000 feet elevation. Exhibits, book sales, and a trail leading to the summit of Waterrock Knob await visitors. The last hik
A majestic 4,200 acres at the foot of Grandfather Mountain, named in honor of Julian Price, comprises this popular park and lies directly adjacent to the Moses H. Cone Memorial Park. Together these parks make up the largest developed area set as
At the lowest elevation along the Parkway, visitors can hike, camp, fish, have a picnic, and see restored Battery Creek Lock from the Kanawha Canal.
A majestic 4,200 acres at the foot of Grandfather Mountain, named in honor of Julian Price, lies directly adjacent to the Moses H. Cone Memorial Park. Together these parks comprise the largest developed area set aside for public recreati
Renew your senses amid this landscape of open meadows. Doughton Park is one of the best places along the Blue Ridge Parkway to view white-tailed deer, raccoons, red and grey foxes, and bobcats.  Flowers burst on the scene in late spring and crea

Calendar

<< February 2016 >>
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
  1 2 3 4 5 6

Campground & Interpretive Programs

Saturday, February 6, 2016, 6:00 pm

Annual Tons of Fun

Saturday, February 6, 2016, 10:00 am
<W
7

Campground & Interpretive Programs

Sunday, February 7, 2016, 6:00 pm
8

Campground & Interpretive Programs

Monday, February 8, 2016, 6:00 pm
9

Campground & Interpretive Programs

Tuesday, February 9, 2016, 6:00 pm

Monthly Old Time Music Jam

Tuesday, February 9, 2016, 6:00 pm
10

Campground & Interpretive Programs

Wednesday, February 10, 2016, 6:00 pm
11

Campground & Interpretive Programs

Thursday, February 11, 2016, 6:00 pm
12

Campground & Interpretive Programs

Friday, February 12, 2016, 6:00 pm
13

Campground & Interpretive Programs

Saturday, February 13, 2016, 6:00 pm

Train Lover's Day

Saturday, February 13, 2016, 10:00 am
<W
14

Campground & Interpretive Programs

Sunday, February 14, 2016, 6:00 pm
15

Campground & Interpretive Programs

Monday, February 15, 2016, 6:00 pm
16

Campground & Interpretive Programs

Tuesday, February 16, 2016, 6:00 pm
17

Campground & Interpretive Programs

Wednesday, February 17, 2016, 6:00 pm
18

Campground & Interpretive Programs

Thursday, February 18, 2016, 6:00 pm
19

Campground & Interpretive Programs

Friday, February 19, 2016, 6:00 pm
20

Campground & Interpretive Programs

Saturday, February 20, 2016, 6:00 pm
<W
21

Campground & Interpretive Programs

Sunday, February 21, 2016, 6:00 pm
22

Campground & Interpretive Programs

Monday, February 22, 2016, 6:00 pm
23

Campground & Interpretive Programs

Tuesday, February 23, 2016, 6:00 pm
24

Campground & Interpretive Programs

Wednesday, February 24, 2016, 6:00 pm
25

Campground & Interpretive Programs

Thursday, February 25, 2016, 6:00 pm
26

Campground & Interpretive Programs

Friday, February 26, 2016, 6:00 pm
27

Campground & Interpretive Programs

Saturday, February 27, 2016, 6:00 pm
<W
28

Campground & Interpretive Programs

Sunday, February 28, 2016, 6:00 pm
29

Campground & Interpretive Programs

Monday, February 29, 2016, 6:00 pm