Skip to Main Content

Nestled between the Blue Ridge Mountains on the east and the Alleghenies on the west, Rockingham County is located along the Interstate 81 corridor and only a 2-hour drive to Washington, DC. Rockingham County is the third largest county in Virginia with seven incorporated towns.

Rockingham County’s county seat, Harrisonburg, was established by a 2.5 acre tract of land deeded by the town’s namesake Thomas Harrison in 1779. Today the town has grown to more than 11,000 acres and is home to James Madison University and Eastern Mennonite University.

Recent interest and investment in revitalizing Downtown Harrisonburg, has led to the town’s designation as a Virginia Main Street Community. The downtown area is also part of the Civil War Trail with six historical waypoints to explore.

Area Visitor Centers

Lodging, Dining & Things to Do