About Luray & Page County
Page County was formed from parts of Shenandoah and Rockingham counties by an act of the Virginia General Assembly in 1831. Luray, the county seat, was founded in 1812. Together, they are represented by the Luray-Page Chamber of Commerce. Shenandoah, the southernmost town in the county, was established in 1884 and Stanley, near the center of the county, was established in 1900.
Several National Historic Landmarks are found in Page county, including the original courthouse, the 18th century Mauck Meeting House, Stevens cottage in Shenandoah, a nineteenth century reminder of the county’s railroad heritage, and several homes dating from the mid-1700’s.
Luray Caverns was discovered in 1878. Each year, more than 500,000 visitors explore the spectacular underground wonder and the adjacent Car and Carriage Caravan of historic vehicles.
Shenandoah National Park borders the county on the east and has 500 miles of hiking trails encompassing over 196,000 acres of land. Luray is a central gateway to the 106-mile historic Skyline Drive.